This is the "Home" page of the "Ancient Egypt: An Introduction" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A Starting point to students and researchers who are interested in Egyptology.
Last Updated: Mar 24, 2016 URL: http://libguides.aucegypt.edu/content.php?pid=663767 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

What's New in Egyptology?

 

Researching Egyptology in AUC Libraries

This guide serves as a starting point for researchers and students interested in Egyptology. It contains information on selected resources from the AUC collections, and provides links to a number of e-resources, including reference sources, databases and indexes, e-book and journal collections. Please note that while some electronic resources are freely available, others are subscription services provided by the AUC Library, so remote access may be necessary when accessing from off-campus.

There is a separate guide for Coptic Studies.  Note that you can also find some relevant tools in some other guides, such as Ancient Near East Research Guide, etc.

 

Hisotry of AUC Egyptology Collections

Selim Hassan

             Labib Habachi   

Selim Hassan                             Labib Habachi                               Gaballa Aly Gaballa

The Egyptology collection in the AUC Libraries is established of libraries and archives of eminent Egyptologists, such as Labib Habachi (1906-1984) , Selim Hanssan (1886 - 1961), Gaballa Aly Gaballa (1939-2012), Constant de Wit (1907-1989),  Shehata Adam (1917-1986) and Abdel Moneim Abu Bakr (1907-1976). Material relating to excavation and archaeology forms the core of the collection, and many excavation reports relating to Egypt itself are obtained regularly (e.g. the publications of leading Egyptological institutions, such as the Egypt Exploration Society, Institut Français d'Archéologie Orientale and the Deutsches Archäologisches Institut). There is also material on Egyptian art, religion, architecture, history, and ancient Egyptian language and literature.  

Other relvant collections include Coptic Studies and Ancient Near East History, which are divided between AUC's Main Library and RBSC Library.

 

Research Assistance

Research assistance in Egyptology and Coptic Studies is available at the AUC Rare Books & Special Collections Library, Library building, 3rd floor. Email us to set up an appointment for a research consultation.

 

Who was Who in Egyptology

Cover Art
Who Was Who in Egyptology - M. L. Bierbrier (Editor)
Call Number: PJ1063 .W46 2012
ISBN: 0856982075
Publication Date: 2014-11-30

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip