This is the "Open Access" page of the "Digital Archive and Research Repository" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The Digital Archive and Research Repository (DAR Repository) guide provides information about contributing and discovering content in the American University in Cairo's open access institutional repository.
Last Updated: Oct 22, 2015 URL: http://libguides.aucegypt.edu/dar Print Guide RSS Updates

Open Access Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Benefits of Open Access

Publishing in Open Access repositories, such as DAR Repository, offers a number of valuable benefits for students, faculty, and staff:

  1. Increased citation of your work
  2. Improved ranking and visibility in search engines
  3. Persistent URLs so others can link to your work
  4. Preservation of your work for future generations

For more information, visit the Open Access Scholarly Information Sourcebook. If you would like to submit published works, check your publisher's copyright policies at SHERPA/RoMEO.

Although we advocate Open Access, you may restrict access to your research housed in DAR Repository for 3 months, 6 months, 1 year, or 2 years.

Organizations

  • Creative Commons
    Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that enables the sharing and use of creativity and knowledge through free legal tools.
  • Open Archives Initiative
    The Open Archives Initiative develops and promotes interoperability standards that aim to facilitate the efficient dissemination of content.
  • Public Library of Science (PLoS)
    PLoS is a nonprofit publisher and advocacy organization. Their mission is to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
  • Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC)
    SPARC is an international alliance of academic and research libraries working to correct imbalances in the scholarly publishing system.
 

Introduction to Open Access

According to Wikipedia (a great open access resource) Open Access is the practice of providing unrestricted access via the Internet to peer-reviewed scholarly journal articles. OA is also increasingly being provided to theses, scholarly monographs and book chapters.

More About Open Access

  • The Effect of Open Access and Downloads ('Hits') on Citation Impact: A Bibliography of Studies
    Why might open access be of benefit to authors? One universally important factor for all authors is impact, typically measured by the number of times a paper is cited (some older studies have estimated monetary returns to authors from article publication via the role citations play in determining salaries). This chronological bibliography is intended to describe progress in reporting these studies; it also lists the Web tools available to measure impact.
  • Digital Scholarship
    Established in 2005 by Charles W. Bailey, Jr., Digital Scholarship provides information and commentary about digital copyright, digital curation, digital repository, open access, scholarly communication, and other digital information issues.
  • Misleading Open Access Myths
    There are many misconceptions and arguments against open access. This webpage is BioMed Central’s response to the most common myths highlighted in the UK's Select Committee on Science & Technology 2003-2004 inquiry into scientific publishing and open access.
  • Open Access Publication of Medical and Scientific Research: a Public Library of Science Background Paper
    Despite the potential for cost-effective and virtually instantaneous dissemination of new research, however, widespread access to scientific and medical literature has yet to be realized. “Open access” publishing is an exciting departure from the traditional subscription-based model of scientific publishing, a system that often frustrates the attempts of scientists, clinicians, and other interested users to search, read about and share important scientific discoveries.
  • Open Access Publishing and Citation Archives: Background and Controversy
    Support for the open access “movement” stems from some librarians’ and scientists’ objections to rising costs of subscriptions to journals; peer reviewers’ objections to providing free reviews for journals rapidly escalating in price; rapid
    technological developments in computing capabilities; and the belief that scientific collaboration, advancement, and utilization will be hastened by free access to citations and articles.
  • Open Access Overview: Focusing on Open Access to Peer-Reviewed Research Articles and their Preprints
    This is an introduction to open access (OA) for those who are new to the concept.

Directories and Indexes

  • Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
    The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. In short a one stop shop for users to Open Access Journals.
  • OAIster
    OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open access resources that was built by harvesting from open access collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH).
  • Open Access Directory (OAD)
    The Open Access Directory (OAD) is a compendium of simple factual lists about open access (OA) to science and scholarship, maintained by the OA community at large.
  • OpenDOAR: Directory of Open Access Repositories
    OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories.
  • Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR)
    The aim of ROAR is to promote the development of open access by providing timely information about the growth and status of repositories throughout the world. Open access to research maximizes research access and thereby also research impact, making research more productive and effective.
  • Scirus
    With over 545 million scientific items indexed at last count, it allows researchers to search for not only journal content but also scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Yasmine Abd Allah
Contact Info
Senior Officer, Reference and Research Services
Rare Books and Special Collections Library
The American University in Cairo
AUC Avenue, P.O. Box 74
New Cairo 11835, Egypt
Library Building
Room no.: 2034
Tel
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ryder Kouba

Mandates and Policies

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip