This is the "Deposit Instructional Materials" page of the "Digital Archive and Research Repository" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The Digital Archive and Research Repository (DAR Repository) guide provides information about contributing and discovering content in the American University in Cairo's open access institutional repository.
Last Updated: Oct 22, 2015 URL: http://libguides.aucegypt.edu/dar Print Guide RSS Updates

Deposit Instructional Materials Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Benefits of Open Access

Publishing in Open Access repositories, such as DAR Repository, offers a number of valuable benefits for students, faculty, and staff:

  1. Increased citation of your work
  2. Improved ranking and visibility in search engines
  3. Persistent URLs so others can link to your work
  4. Preservation of your work for future generations

For more information, visit the Open Access Scholarly Information Sourcebook. If you would like to submit published works, check your publisher's copyright policies at SHERPA/RoMEO.

Although we advocate Open Access, you may restrict access to your research housed in DAR Repository for 3 months, 6 months, 1 year, or 2 years.

 

Know Your Rights

Authors will benefit by understanding their rights and negotiating with their publishers to retain rights. Such rights control the availability of the work to others as well as the author's right to use the work in his or her own classroom, website, etc.

  • Author's Rights, Tout de Suite
    Author's Rights, Tout de Suite, by Charles Bailey (2008) is a very readable explanation of how authors can retain and manage copyright of their journal articles.
  • Copyright Management
    “When you publish a book or a paper, many publishers will ask you to transfer all copyrights in the work to them. But that is not always to your advantage....” 
    Provided by the Copyright Information Center, Cornell University (2009), it includes sections on "What Authors Can Do" and "Sample Copyright Agreements."
  • Author Rights: Using the SPARC Author Addendum
    Describes the SPARC Author Addendum to secure your rights as the author of a journal article. Provided by the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC), 2006.
  • Authors' Rights and Copyrights
    Basic information about author rights, from the ACRL Scholarly Communication Toolkit, 2010.
 

Introduction

The Instructional Materials digital collection includes syllabi, tutorials, and lecture recordings created by instructors at the American University in Cairo.

The DAR Repository accepts the following types of instructional materials:

  • Class notes
  • Course packets
  • Lecture recordings
  • Syllabi
  • Tutorials
 

Deposit Scholarship in the DAR Repository

Follow the instructions to upload your syllabi, tutorials, and lecture recordings to the DAR Repository.

  1. Visit the DAR Repository.
  2. Login with your AUC username and password.
  3. Find the link Submissions listed under My Account heading on the right.
  4. Click on the Start a New Submission link.
  5. When prompted, select Instructional Materials as the collection to which you would like to submit your work.
  6. Follow the instructions on the screen.
  7. Grant the Distribution License.
  8. You will be notified by email when your submission has been approved.

When you submit your thesis to the DAR Repository, you are agreeing to the following terms:

  1. I hereby certify that I have obtained all needed written permissions from the owner(s) of each third-party copyrighted matter included in my thesis, dissertation, paper, or record of study.
  2. I understand that a hard copy of my accepted work, with best quality images and any other media that form part of it, will be deposited in the University Library.
  3. I hereby grant to The American University in Cairo or its agents the non-exclusive license to archive my thesis, dissertation, paper, or record of study and make it accessible, under the conditions specified below, in whole or in part, in all forms of media, now or hereafter known.
  4. Insofar as this thesis, dissertation, paper, or record of study is an educational record as defined in the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) (20 USC 1232g), I consent to disclosure of it to anyone who requests a copy.
  5. I retain all other ownership rights to the copyright of the thesis, dissertation, paper, or record of study.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Yasmine Abd Allah
Contact Info
Senior Officer, Reference and Research Services
Rare Books and Special Collections Library
The American University in Cairo
AUC Avenue, P.O. Box 74
New Cairo 11835, Egypt
Library Building
Room no.: 2034
Tel
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ryder Kouba
 

Accepted File Formats

Submit your thesis and accompanying materials, including photographs, videos, and datasets, using the accepted file formats detailed below.

  • Microsoft Word Docment (.doc or .docx)
  • OpenDocument Text (.odt)
  • Portable Document Format (.pdf)
  • Microsoft PowerPoint (.ppt or .pptx)
  • OpenDocument Presentation (.odp)
  • Microsoft Excel Spreadsheet (.xls or .xlsx)
  • OpenDocument Spreadsheet (.ods)
  • Joint Photographic Experts Groups (.jpg)
  • Tagged Image File Format (.tif)
  • OpenDocument Graphics (.odg)
  • Broadcast Wave Format (.wav)
  • MPEG-1 or MPEG-2 Audio Layer III (.mp3)
  • Audio Video Interleave (.avi)
  • MPEG-4 Part 14 (.mp4)

Be sure not to include commas or periods in your file names.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip